11 December 2023
Hex A.D.

Hex A.D. – Astro Tongue in the Electric Garden

Label: Fresh Tea
Releasedate: 21-02-2020

Hex A.D. is a Norwegian progressive doom metal act. Their music can be described as doomy and heavy, with the progressive elements and influences from the 70s. They have recently released the latest album “Astro Tongue in the Electric Garden”, featuring some guest artists such as Eiríkur Hauksson and Thomas Tofthagen.

“Astro Tongue in the Electric Garden” takes us on a time travel to the 70s; you will feel the buzz, the doom, and the colors with all those melodies and riffs with a modern touch, forming the band’s essence. There are so many emotions and so many colors that I could feel that the genre ‘progressive doom’ does not do justice to these Norwegians and to this release in general. The record is so lively that it will flow, not leaving any dull moment. Each song will feel like a rollercoaster, with some of my favorites being Old Bones, Deadly Nightshade and Hawks & Doves.

One big highlight is definitely the well-crafted arrangement as well as production, making this album enjoyable from the beginning to the end. The songs do not sound the same as there is an ever-changing pace, with some nice twists such as a guitar solo here or an organ solo there. I could also feel that Rick Hagan, on vocals, gave his heart and soul as I could feel the power of the music through his vocals.

“Astro Tongue in the Electric Garden” is definitely recommended for the ones willing to go on a time travel and craving for some doom and color in their music. Keep in mind that the songs are quite ‘long’ for the average listener but for the listeners of this genre, this will be pretty normal, and I can assure you that each Hex A.D. moment will be devoured!

Line up:

  • Rick Hagan- vocals, guitars
  • Mags Johansen – organ, mellotron, synths, piano
  • Arry Gogstad – bass guitar
  • Matt Hagan – drums
Hex A.D.

01. Elle est mort
02. Deadly Nightshade
03. Astro Tongue
04. The Day the Sky Exploded
05. Au revoir jardin électrique
06. Hawks & Dove
07. Old Bones
08. A Stone for the Bodies Not Found
09. Grace and Pain