29 January 2023

Angra – Aqua

Releasedate: 27-09-2010; Label: SPV/Steamhammer
By: Sabine van Gameren

The Power Metal formation Angra from Brazil has started in 1991. Various releases followed after that. Singles, EP’s, DVD’s, live album and of course studio albums as well. “Aqua” is the seventh full length studio release of these guys.

Angra is a band that is widely appreciated and their last albums have gotten good feedback all over the world. Expectations are set so the album must live up to that. From the first start it seems like the band have gotten themselves into yet another successful album. Around the theme of water, they created 10 songs for the cd buyers and a couple of bonus tracks for those who prefer vinyl. What is interesting is that besides the typical speedy power metal songs you expect of them to come there is also place for a ballad. Interesting piano parts, not too cliché bringing some peace in the whole. When the guitars come into “Lease of Life” you get remembered to its stereotypicals again, but nevertheless the song give a good opportunity to listen very careful to what this band brings.
A good introduction to their Brazilian roots is found in several occasions, showing their identity and leaving a mark on the music. In their home country the album is already out, as well as Japan and now it is Europe who will enjoy this new album of Angra, on which may surely be mentioned as one of the toplist Power Metal.

Line Up:
Edu Falaschi – Vocals
Kiko Loureiro – Guitars
Rafael Bittencourt – Guitars
Felipe Andreoli – Bass
Ricardo Confessori – Drums

01. Viderunt Te Aquae
02. Arising Thunder
03. Awake From Darkness
04. Lease Of Life
05. The Rage Of The Waters
06. Spirit Of The Air
07. Hollow
08. A Monster In Her Eyes
09. Weakness Of A Man
10. Ashes

Angra MySpace