23 September 2023

Deicide – To Hell With God

Releasedate: 21-02-2011; Label: Century Media
By: Elvira Visser

In the year 1987 Glen Benton and Steve Asheim teamed up an decided to start a brutal death metal band called Deicide. Which became one of the original pioneers of the Floria death metal scene. One of the marks from Deicide is their incredible ability to play technical solos in high speed.

Deicide has recently released their 10th CD, when not counting the two live CD’s. On this new album “To Hell With God” they are not hiding their anti-Christian fury, but scream it loud in the open. But what else do you expect from a singer who burned a upside down cross on his forehead. One thing the band does besides creating brutal death metal is spreading their satanic believes. After delivering a few albums that were not top notch they took a safe path by working together with Mark Lewis (The Black Dahlia Murder, DevilDriver).

The track “Hang In Agony Until You’re Dead” has a nice tempo to nod your head and scream along. One of those tracks that are brilliant live. Musically the album is nice, it has catchy hooks and brutal moments. The quality of the vocals isn’t always brilliant but good enough. However this album is not really standing out. I guess overall Deicide is one of those bands that you love or you don’t.

Line up:
Glen Benton – Vocals/Bass
Steve Asheim – Drums
Jack Owen – Guitar
Ralph Santolla – Guitar

01. To Hell With God
02. Save Your
03. Witness of Death
04. Conviction
05. Empowered by Blasphemy
06. Angels of Hell
07. Hang In Agony Until You’re Dead
08. Servant of the Enemy
09. Into the Darkness You Go
10. How Can You Call Yourself a God

Deicide MySpace