4 December 2022

Leprous – Bilateral

Releasedate: 22-08-2011; Label: InsideOut
By: Sabine van Gameren

Leprous is a Norwegian Progressive Rock formation. The band has done quite some touring, with Pagan’s Mind, Therion and Opeth, but also as the live band of Ihsahn. Their album “Bilateral” is out now.

That the Prog rockers could play we knew already seeing them rock with Ihsahn live, and so the expectations for this album were high as well. The band more than fulfilled that with this release. They come with quite some complexity and on the other side they seem to be quite open and easy to catch. The last past inevitably caused by the vocals, all quite catchy and easy to listen too. Mainly these are clean but as surprise out of nowhere some more darker voices come to light, this done in a way that it doesn’t turn into something predictable. This unpredictable side also follows in the instrumental part. The guitars come with some interesting riffs and synths are vey well placed in the music. Obvious the guys released an album that is above expectations. “Bilateral” is a wonderful prog release in which the guys have shown themselves as great musicians and good songwriters with a lot of imagination which leads to these gorgeous and inventive songs.

Einar Solberg – synth/vocals
Tor Oddmund Suhrke – guitar
Øystein Landsverk – guitar
Rein Blomquist – bass
Tobias Ørnes Andersen – drums

01. Bilateral
02. Forced Entry
03. Restless
04. Thorn
05. Mb. Indifferentia
06. Waste Of Air
07. Mediocrity Wins
08. Cryptogenic Desires
09. Acquired Taste
10. Painful Detour

Leprous Facebook
Leprous Official