23 September 2023

Axel Rudi Pell – The Crest

Releasedate: 26-04-2010; Label: SPV/Steamhammer
By: Sabine van Gameren

Axel Rudi Pell, the man that never sits back to relax comes back with a new studio album. Since he started this project in 1989 there were already 13 studio albums released and “The Crest” is the name of his latest musical child. Earlier this year, a dvd was released.

Although this project have been with several musicians during the time, for the last twelve years the line up remained as it was and this is one of the reasons that fans of Axel Rudi Pell know exactly what they get when buying a new release. This album is not an exception on that. When you can’t get enough of the tradition sound, you can be assured of a ballad too. “Glory Night” is giving some charm to music, bringing the fury down to something calm, a nice change halfway the album. Very accessible songs with guitarsolo’s that are so characteristic and fit in the expectations of what you get when buying an Axel Rudi Pell album. It’s a solid experience, listening to a release of these guys and never gets boring, although it is not something new under the sun either. But no one is waiting for that anyway when it comes to them.

Line up:
Johnny Gioeli – Vocals
Axel Rudi Pell – Guitars
Volker Krawczak – Bass
Mike Terrana – Drums
Ferdy Doernberg – Keyboards

01. Prelude Of Doom (Intro)
02. Too Late
03. Devil Zone
04. Prisoner Of Love
05. Dreaming Dead
06. Glory Night
07. Dark Waves Of The Sea (Oceans Of Time Pt. II: The Dark Side)
08. Burning Rain
09. Noblesse Oblige (Opus #5 Adagio Contabile)
10. The End Of Our Time

Axel Rudi Pell Official