26 November 2022

Triptykon – Eparistera Daimones

Releasedate: 22-03-2010; Label: Century Media
By: Elvira Visser

“As Celtic Frost arose from Hellhammer’s ashes, so arises TRIPTYKON from Celtic Frost’s ashes.”
Thomas Gabriel Fisher (a.k.a. Tom Gabriel Warrior) formaly known from Hellhammer and Celtric Frost has been busy with a side project for some years. When he left Celtic Frost, singer/guitarist and main songwriter Thomas found that this project was no longer a mere substitute to Celtric Frost. Thomas found himself some musicans and named the band Triptykon, which is a homage to the religieus themed paintings of the dark ages. The recordings of their first album “Eparistera Daimones” started in the summer of 2009 in Germany. The sound of the album can be compared to Thomas earlier work and latest album from Celtic Frost: “Monotheist’”. It is not weird that some of the lyrics or music on “Eparistera Daimones” was written during the past few years and were originally intended for Monotheist. Triptykon’s lyrics deal with themes such as history, occultism and nihilism.

The debut album “Eparistera Daimones” picks up from where Celtin Frost’s Monotheist (2006) left us. The band worked on this album for a while and you can hear that in each song which is well written. The dark and doomy atmosphere with the sharp and raw vocals is what dominates this album. The album starts with “Goetia” which start out slowly and is built up creating a distressing and grievous atmosphere which stays on the rest of the album. The album has an artwork that perfectly fit everything where “Eparistera Daimones” is about. No other then Hans R. Giger designed the artwork.

01 Goetia
02 Abyss Within My Soul
03 In Shrouds Decayed
04 Shrine
05 A Thousand Lies
06 Descendant
07 Myopic Empire
08 My Pain
09 The Prolonging

Triptykon MySpace