24 June 2024

Mortiis – Perfectly Defect

Releasedate: 10-10-2010;
By: Nina Mende

Mortiis is a band from Notodden, Norway fronted by Håvard Ellefsen, who is also known as the namesake of the band. The name is a misspelling of the word ‘mortis’, which is the pronunciation used by the band. However, Mortiis started as the solo project of Ellefsen as a means to convey a story. This aspect was lost over time and Mortiis slowly formed into a band. “Perfectly Defect” was released October 10, 2010 for free download. Prior to being released, the official Mortiis website had a countdown clock. The album was released in various formats including FLAC, MP3 and AAC.

The new Mortiis album is something special, not only because it was released for free on their webpage on October 10th for everyone to download but also because of its content. Only eight tracks are on “Perfectly Defect” but the album seems much longer. The album also seems like a split album with an A and a B side. The first tracks are strong with dark vocals, electro elements with metal. Catchy melodies dragging you deep into a darker world. The second part of the album is more of an instrumental part: No vocals and the music is a little slower, building and forming the world into which Mortiis sucked you before. “Perfectly Defect” is an interesting album. A physical release of Mortiis will follow in early 2011

01. Closer to the end
02. Perfectly Defect
03. Sensation of Guilt
04. Sole Defeat
05. Thieving Bastards
06. Halo of Arms
07. Impossible to Believe
08. This Absolution

Mortiis Official