26 November 2022

Katra – Out of The Ashes

Releasedate: 26-10-2010; Label: Napalm Records
By: Sabine van Gameren

Katra is a Finnish Symphonical metal band. The band formed in 2005 and “Out of The Ashes” is the third studio album.

The first album as a complete band, instead of a collection of rent-a-musicians, that’s how they get their promotion going. Sounds a bit disrespectful but perhaps the cold hard truth. As this sort of statements should respond in something clearly hearable advance, I must say there might be a bit of lacking. The music sounds perfectly balanced, but it is not really original at all. As my colleague also found this with their previous release I must note that I do not found their songs being copycatted, but just not standing out. Most close to being something special must be the ballad “The End of The Scene” which seems to be a bit ironical but yet has some gorgeous acoustic guitars in it which makes up for the rest. The musicianship in this album is not really to question, the band has skills, vocals sound good enough as well and with a very decent production you get quite far as well, but a little bit more originality and perhaps some more diversity would have made this album way more exciting.

Line Up:
Katra Solopuro – Vocals
Teemu Mätäsjärvi – Guitar
Kristian Kangasniemi – Guitar
Johannes Tolonen – Bass
Matti Auerkallio – Drums

1. Delirium
2. One Wish Away
3. If There’s No Tomorrow
4. Vendetta
5. Out Of The Ashes
6. Envy
7. Mirror
8. Anthem
9. The End Of The Scene
10. Hide And Seek

Katra MySpace