26 November 2022

Apoptygma Berzerk – Imagine There's No Lennon

Releasedate: 22-10-2010; Label: Gun Records
By: Nina Mende

One and a half years after the last Apoptygma Berzerk world tour with the old line up the live album including DVD is now released. „Imagine There’s No Lennon“ ist he album title and it contains as many conspiracy hints as „Rocket Science“ did. The album booklet includes live pictures from the tour. The DVD includes some backstage footage as well as music videos.

Apoptygma Berzerk (commonly abbreviated to APB or Apop) is a Norwegian musical group. They have achieved success with a brand of synthpop, and ballads backed with electronic rhythms, commonly known within the scene and referring to themselves as “futurepop”. Apop has won awards and top-10 spots in Germany and Scandinavia. Apoptygma Berzerk has toured Europe, North America, Australia and Israel with bands such as VNV Nation, Beborn Beton and Icon of Coil. The band was originally founded in 1989. Last year the band went through a quite radical change of line-up. „Imagine There’s No Lennon“ is the last release with the old line-up and raises great memories of the past.

On the CD you can find selected songs of the live show. The entire show is on the DVD with all songs. Of the very last encore song “Mourn” you can only find a “hand filmed” version in the extras and behind the scenes material. On the CD you can hear how much interaction the band and audience had, on the DVD you can also see it. Perfect light and sounds as it seems and a wonderful atmosphere that even spreads throughout the room when watching now. All the favorite songs and released hits were played during the show. Many fans from the front rows will recognize themselves in the audience on the DVD and maybe even in the booklet. Even though you might already have been singing along during the show in Cologne, where it was recorded, you will most likely find yourself singing along again now. Apop’s “Imagine There’s No Lennon” is more than just a live CD and DVD package. To many of the old school Apop fans it is a very special and precious chapter that it closing with this release. The new chapter of Apoptygma Berzerk has just begun. Be part of it and see you out there. 1984 is now

01. Weight of the World
02. Eclipse
03. Mercy Kill
04. Asleep Or Awake?
05. Lost in Translation
06. In This Together
07. Shadow
08. You Keep Me From Breaking Apart
09. Until the End of the World
10. Shine On
11. Starsign
12. Non-Stop Violence
01. Weight of the World
02. Apollo (Live On Your TV)
03. Eclipse
04. Mercy Kill
05. Asleep Or Awake?
06. Lost in Translation
07. In This Together
08. Shadow
09. Black Versus White
10. You Keep Me From Breaking Apart
11. Until the End of the World
12. Butterfly Defect
13. Bizarre Love Triangle
14. Kathy’s Song (Come Lie Next to Me)
15. Shine On
16. Starsign
17. Non-Stop Violence

Apoptygma Berzerk MySpace