25 February 2024

Shores Of Null – The Loss of Beauty

Release Date: 24.03.2023 
Label:  Spikerot Records

Hailing from Italy, doom & gloomers Shores Of Null released their 4th full length named “The Loss of Beauty“. The band has been active since 2013 and been very well known ever since ın the scene I must say. I am truly regretful that I have not heard of them despite being a doom metal fan.

This album is my first time hearing them and I’m completely sold on the 1st track that is instrumental but giving away the band’s sound right away. And with the 3rd track The Last Flower, to my absolute liking I’m a fan of the vocals. Usually even though I love the sound most doom bands lack clear vocals. Somehow the vox are reminiscent of Amorphis’ Tomi Joutsen that I love. I can officially call S.O.N the lovechild of Swallow the Sun, Amorphis and Before the Dawn. I’m extra impressed that the band is from Italy because the doom sound is known to be mostly Scandinavian /Nordic based. Shores of Null could have fooled me if they say they’re a band from up north. This is the reason I love music especially metal ‘cuz there’s no borders or nations when it comes to sound of music.

Back on the album; some tracks kinda fell flat in my opinion but in general I can definitely say this whole record is a quality laden doom-fest.

This is a lengthy album with 13 tracks including the bonus songs in the digital version but surely I have a couple of favorites off of the album. There are solely instrumental ones like The First Son and Transitory. The Last Flower, My Darkest Years and A Nature of Disguise are just my cup of tea. Uptempo, extremely melodic and have that doom drama to them. I must say the band shines way brighter with their piercing uptempo tracks.

If you’re a fan of European doom metal or doom genre in general you should definitely check Shores of Null’s The Loss of Beauty out.

Line up:
  • Matteo Capozucca – Bass
  • Emiliano Cantiano – Drums
  • Gabriele Giaccari – Guitars
  • Raffaele Colace – Guitars
  • Davide Straccione – Vocals


  1. Transitory
  2. Destination Woe
  3. The Last Flower
  4. Darkness Won’t Take Me
  5. Nothing Left To Burn
  6. Old Scars
  7. The First Son
  8. A Nature In Disguise
  9. My Darkest Years
  10. Fading As One
  11. A New Death Is Born bonus tracks (CD and digital only)
  12. Underwater Oddity
  13. Blazing Sunlight


Bandcamp: https://shoresofnull.bandcamp.com/album/the-loss-of-beauty
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/shoresofnull