Rusty Pacemaker – Ruins

Rusty Pacemaker – Ruins
Label: Solanum Records
Written by: Sabine van Gameren
Releasedate: 22-05-2015

Rusty Pacemaker is a project from Austria. Started as a musician in 2003 slowly some songs came alive and a debut album saw light in 2010. In 2015 there was a follow up seeing light, “Ruins” is out now.

To describe the band’s music you would look into a diversity of influences. In the start you hear some doomy influences, but some heavier Rock comes around the corner and sooner than later the tempo’s go up and leave that atmosphere behind. Never the touch with darkness is lost though. Instrumentally, there is plenty to hear in this album, the guitars are not standing behind but have a rather constructive place in not only the melodic side of the music, but also in supporting the drums which are playing a major part in the songs. Together they make the music dynamic and interesting. The vocals are a bit harder to take. Not very stereotypical, sometimes a bit flat, and maybe the element that is the most important for the like or no like factor of this release. Often you get the impression that there is a lot of time spend in thinking how these vocals must sound but that the technique to get there could be improved. Something to work on.

“Ruins” is not the kind of album you hear every day. There is variation in the songs and there is obviously a lot of research done on what the music should bring. It feels like a very personal release that one could hear a lot of passion in.

Rusty Pacemaker – Ruins Tracklist:
01. Ruins
02. Made of Lies
03. Ocean of Life
04. The Game
05. Night Angel
06. Candlemess
07. Forever
08. Matter over Mind
09. Knowing
10. Pillow of Silence

Rusty Pacemaker Facebook

28 September 2015