29 January 2023

Vreid – V

Releasedate: 07-02-2011; Label: Indie Recordings
By: Sabine van Gameren

Vreid is a Norwegian Black Metal band. The band formed in 2004 after the vocalist of their former band passed away. Anno 2011 they release their fifth full length release called: “V”.

Musically, the band brings folk influences into their sound but as well some Thrash elements can be found. The guys are presenting a steady sound that seems quite variable. Nine tracks on this release will keep your interest, in the slower parts the melody gets accompanied by a not too dead backing, meaning they did not choose the easy way out but overall have kept it on the higher level throughout the whole album. The band speeds up their tempo at quite some points as well, leaving a good balance between the slower parts and the faster parts. Not everyone will appreciate it, but the band have included some clean vocal parts in some of their songs. Maybe not that needed at that point but perhaps a nice break for those who found this release a bit too heavy.
Overall, a steady release of these Norwegians. It does not bring you songs that stick in mind very long, it isn’t authentic, but various enough to keep you entertained. And above all, it invites you to see their live shows, somehow the music leaves it up to your imagination how the band will bring some songs on a stage and the only way to find out is to actually see them.

Line Up:
Sture Dingsøyr – Vocals, Guitar
Stian “Strom” Bakketeig – Guitar
Jarle “Hváll” Kvåle – Bass
Jørn “Steingrim” Holen – Drums

01. Arche
02. The Blood Eagle
03. Wolverine Bastards
04. The Sound Of The River
05. Fire On The Mountain
06. The Others & The Look
07. Slave
08. Welcome To The Asylum
09. Then We Die

Vreid Facebook
Vreid Official